Sub floor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sub floor

Does anyone know how thick the sub floor is on these coaches? And do you know what the sub floor is composed of? Is it a single product like plywood, or is it sandwiched with something else? Thanks for your help.

Originally posted by Krohsis View Post
    Does anyone know how thick the sub floor is on these coaches? And do you know what the sub floor is composed of? Is it a single product like plywood, or is it sandwiched with something else? Thanks for your help.
    I'm not a lawyer, but the answer to, What is the subfloor is composed of? is It depends.

I'm going to get some of these terms wrong, but my Reflection travel trailer (maybe all of the TTs?) have a laminate sandwich-type floor that is pre-built prior to installation on the frame on the assembly line. To my untrained eye it looked like a wall that was being used as a floor. The insulation is foam, not fiberglass.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Travel Trailer.JPG
Views:	2516
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	15140

A fifth wheel--all of them I think--from Momentum to Reflections, have a frame with fiberglass insulation with OSB(?) laid on top. Again--I may not have my terms exactly correct. I'm not 100% sure on the thickness. I'll let someone else provide that information.

Name:	5th Wheel.JPG
Views:	2426
Size:	77.6 KB
ID:	15141

Again, not sure if I have the terms exactly correct and I don't know why there are the two different types of floors. From my single time looking at the difference on the factory floor, all I know is the floors are indeed quite different between my Reflection TT and a Reflection 5vr. Maybe one of my fellow moderators knows why there are two different floor constructions or one of the other owners here has more info to fill in the "why" behind the "what". If no one knows I'll ping Megan for more info.

-Howard