Lithium Install 2021 Imagine 2800BH

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lithium Install 2021 Imagine 2800BH

First, I want to thank everyone in this forum that has posted their electrical Mods and answer my stupid questions. I have read most of them in order to make this happen.

I am by no means a professional so use what I have done at your own risk. If you are not comfortable working with electricity DO NOT attempt this. You can burn your rig down or kill yourself in the process.

I bought a 2021 GD Imagine 2800BH in September and from day one I knew the battery you get was not going to be enough. I could not make it a full night without running out of juice. I went and bought two UT1300 from Costco at $699 each. I was going to get Battle Born batteries but the price, weight and footprint made the Lion Energy batteries more attractive.

My goal was to install them in the passthrough storage in order to protect them from the elements and to keep thieves honest. I didn’t want to modify the OEM wiring to much so I kept everything aft of the disconnect switch untouched. I did disconnect the factory installed converter and bought a 60 Amp lithium compatible converter/charger. By the way, I am getting the full 60 Amp from that thing. Very happy with it.

I remove the positive and negative wires from the original battery and discard them alone with the battery. The positive wire on the output side of the 30 Amp auto-reset fuse was moved to the input side of the fuse. This wire then was disconnected from the disconnect switch and attached to Class T fuse block. From there I attached another wire from the fuse block to another 30 Amp auto-reset I installed and then to the other side of the disconnect switch. The ground wire was attached to the frame underneath the convenience center. This will allow the lithium batteries to provide power to the jack and the breakaway switch with the disconnect switch off. Do you follow what I did? If not, ASK.