Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2021 Momentum 397TH Awning Wiring Issue

Hi All,
    I have been diagnosing a wiring issue that my trailer has had since day 1. The dealer could not figure it out and they had the trailer for over 2 weeks after my PDI. I finally told them to forget it and I'd figure it out.

A little on my background; I spent over 20 years in the automotive industry, 10 of which were as an ASE certified Master Technician in a shop and later on getting into shop management at a famous High-Performance Driving school. During my time as a mechanic, I specialized in electrical and early computerized fuel injection systems, among many other things, so I figured I had a lot better chance of figuring out the problem than the tech at my dealer (they couldn't even install a Surge Gaurd correctly, they bolted it to the floor exactly as the instructions tell you NOT too!)

The electrical issues discovered during my PDI;

1- The LED accent lights in the living room/kitchen glow a dim red even when turned off. When turned on, they worked and I could change the colors but I could hear a relay constantly clicking on/off under the stairs.

2- NONE of the manual switches for the awnings or main slides worked. All had to be controlled through the phone app or painfully slow One Control touch screen on the wall.

3- Rear Patio awning (over the ramp door) does not work via app, touch screen or manual switch

What I have figured out so far;
    • I started at the wall switch in the garage - I noticed one of the switched wires (White with Green stripe) had power to it at all times in addition to the center terminal on the switch. Then I also noticed when pushing the switch to "EXT" the lights in the living room stopped glowing! This is when the light bulb went off in my head!
    • I looked at the app on my phone and pulled up the awnings under devices. I noticed the Patio awning said "Awning is retracting" at all times.