Winterization--A Different Approach

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winterization--A Different Approach

First things first--I hate plumbing. Apparently the feeling is mutual.

Sometimes I am very glad the members of this forum don't get to watch me as I stumble my way through the learning process. (Yes, this is my first time winterizing.) I know all about reversing the inlet filter, priming the pump, getting the jug up higher...still didn't do me any good. Spilled a good 1/2 gallon of antifreeze on me and inside the tray near the Nautilus Panel as I tried to get that stupid pump to pull the fluid in. If a water pump can snicker, mine was laughing at me derisively.

So it was time to bring out the big guns. I used a submersible utility pump and switched the Nautilus Panel to the Power Fill setting to get ~ 4.5 gallons of antifreeze in my fresh water tank. Took all of about two minutes to pump it all in.

If you watched that video, make sure and mark it as "Most Boring Forum Video of the Year" so I get some recognition. Thanks.

After getting the antifreeze into the fresh water tank, I set the Nautilus Panel to Dry Camping, turned on the water pump, and made my way around to all the water outlets, opening one at a time until the fluid coming out ran red.
    • I deviated from the diagram settings on the Nautilus panel by turning the red handle to point to the 9 o'clock position (off). If I had not done that all the antifreeze would have been pumped into the hot water tank. Also note that before starting the hot water tank was completely drained so I knew it was empty.
    Since my wife has a washing machine I momentarily ran it on both the HOT and COLD water settings until I saw red fluid in the basin and then had the washer drain the fluid.

I also ran antifreeze through the outside sprayer hose.

Once complete I turned off the pump and opened the bottom drains. They all spit out a bit of red antifreeze. (Yea!)