Best TPMS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best TPMS

I'm purchasing new 2021 Imagine XLS 22MLE. 26 feet total length. Would like opinions on TPMS systems to monitor pressure and temp. I'm a Newbie. Thx
    Marty and Teresa
    2022 Reflection 260RD
    2022 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT

Originally posted by Martybhawk View Post
    I'm purchasing new 2021 Imagine XLS 22MLE. 26 feet total length. Would like opinions on TPMS systems to monitor pressure and temp. I'm a Newbie. Thx
    I used to have the tire minder that displayed on my phone (didn’t want another display mounted on my dash), and it worked great. I now use the Ford factory trailer TPMS which is integrated into the dash and love it. Only downside is no temperature monitoring, but I just check them with an IR gun when I stop.
    Forum moderators are not GD employees--we are volunteers and owners presumably just like yourself. Unless specifically mentioned otherwise, we have nothing to gain should you choose to purchase a product or engage a service we discuss on this forum.

Neil Citro
    2018 Reflection 28BH Pepwave
    2019 F350 6.7L Long Bed Crew Cab

Comment

I've had a TireMinder system for many years (so, consider that it is an older one) and I have had chronic problems with dropped sensor signals. I have worked with TireMinder advice to change location of the booster and even add a second signal booster. Sensor signals still get lost . . . which sets off an alarm . . . which is stressful. On the positive side, over those years Tireminder has identified two slow leaks. One was a bad valve stem and one was a screw in the tread.

The temperature monitoring is of little use (in my opinion). The temperature at the end of the valve stem has little to do with the temperatures at the tire tread or wheel bearing, which are what is important. Much better to use the IR gun as Neilncitro describes.