Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Good Grief!! - Did I order the wrong MPPT SmartSolar Charge Controller???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good Grief!! - Did I order the wrong MPPT SmartSolar Charge Controller???

Ok to make a long story short. One of the Victron dealers (dealer A) recommended the Victron 100/20 solar controller for my set up. I posted previously about this in another thread and its water under the bridge. I ordered from a different dealer (dealer B) as they carried a bunch of other things I needed the first dealer (dealer A)did not carry and I got a pretty good discount on the other parts. Delaer B matched Dealer A on the Victron prices.. What I did not do is verify with dealer B until later that I had the correct solar controller coming - my bad. I am just learning the Solar vernacular and overlooked the PV power of the panels and concentrated on the volts and amps.

So can the experts please confirm that I messed up?

I have 2-190Watt Go Power Panels that I plan to put in series, 380 watts total. Max panel output (used open circuit numbers) is 48.18v @ 9.98 amps in series. Max power numbers are 40.8v @ 9.45 amps - again in series configuration.

Solar cell type Monocrystalline ( Information taken from the back of solar panel ) Does not match what Go Power has on their web page. Numbers are higher.
    Output power 190 W
    Max Power current 9.45A
    Short Circuit current 9.98A
    Max Power voltage 20.4V
    Open-circuit voltage 24.09 V

So the controller I have on order that has shipped is the Victron SmartSolar 100/20 which was recommended by dealer A based on my original 75/15 choice. They recommended I needed the 100/20
    Victron 100/20 specification
    https://www.victronenergy.com/upload...-20_48V-EN.pdf
    Nominal PV power, @12V is 290W however its rated for 20A . However there is a footnote I don't really understand. "If more PV power is connected, the controller will limit input power".