Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dirt Devil CV1500 Vacuum in a 2019 315RLTS (1 of 2 posts)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dirt Devil CV1500 Vacuum in a 2019 315RLTS (1 of 2 posts)

28 Oct Update: This did not turn out too well--make sure and read post #7 of this thread!

http://www.dirtdevilcentral.com/WBA/...at-central-vac

Note 1: Due to limit of four pictures per post this write-up consists of two posts.

Note 2: This is a new installation as of 17 Jul—it is not time-tested! I’ll update this thread after our trip to the rally in August with any lessons-learned. As I state often, I’m not an engineer or professional RV mechanic…this is something I figured out on my own that I *think* will work. Copy at your own risk!

My DW wanted a permanently installed vacuum in her trailer. Initially she wanted it under the sink in the kitchen island but it would have taken almost 100% of the space. That meant finding a new location for the garbage can and various cleaning supplies. It also meant considerable finishing work to make the hose access good looking. As the saying goes, the “juice wasn’t worth the squeeze”.

We looked at every other possible location in the trailer. The two primary considerations were 1) the vacuum’s hose must reach both ends of the trailer and 2) power was readily available on a lightly-used circuit. (That last criteria eliminated most of the living room because almost every easily-accessible outlet is on one 15A circuit!)

After long debates we decided to install it under the bed. It’s very easy* to raise up the end of the bed exposing the vacuum. Fran doesn’t have to bend over or get on the floor to access the vacuum or change the filter bag.

*Note I’m able to say “it’s very easy to raise the bed” because of the heavy-duty 150lb gas springs I installed after buying a quality residential mattress.

Click image for larger version  Name:	Lift.JPG Views:	10 Size:	16.1 KB ID:	2076