Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help, I'm baffled! Interior lighting circuit reading at 6V instead of 12V!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help, I'm baffled! Interior lighting circuit reading at 6V instead of 12V!

While attempting to wire two small (1 watt) red LED courtesy lights off of a light switch in the bathroom of of our new 265BH, I noticed both lit very dimly and were clearly under-powered. I then checked with a volt meter and see that the circuit is reading a consistent 5.8 volts. This switch comes off the main overhead lighting circuit where the factory overhead LEDs are all at their usual brightness with no indications of low voltage or shorting. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I have had four different sailboats over the years and am fairly good at basic stuff like this. Some jokes here may be warranted, but I am completely baffled as to why this is happening and hoping someone can help me resolve it!
    David & Nanette
    2020 GD Transcend Xplor 265BH
    2019 Ram 1500 Laramie 5.7L
    Louisville, KY

Originally posted by sailbound View Post
    While attempting to wire two small (1 watt) red LED courtesy lights off of a light switch in the bathroom of of our new 265BH, I noticed both lit very dimly and were clearly under-powered. I then checked with a volt meter and see that the circuit is reading a consistent 5.8 volts. This switch comes off the main overhead lighting circuit where the factory overhead LEDs are all at their usual brightness with no indications of low voltage or shorting. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I have had four different sailboats over the years and am fairly good at basic stuff like this. Some jokes here may be warranted, but I am completely baffled as to why this is happening and hoping someone can help me resolve it!
    Welcome aboard , get it , haha.

Have you tried to test the light on another circuit? Any way to test it off of another battery or source.