Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Side damage repair

Hi All,

My 5th wheel got in a fight with a metal roof overhang and lost. The damage to the side is not too bad:

Click image for larger version  Name:	dataurl489661.png Views:	13 Size:	533.0 KB ID:	124624
    Click image for larger version  Name:	dataurl489663.png Views:	12 Size:	798.3 KB ID:	124625
    I’d like to repair this myself.

Using a fiberglass repair kit seems overkill (right)? And I’m concerned my amateur results will look unsightly. I’ve never used one before either. I saw in another thread a reference to TAP fiberglass repair so suppose I could take a crash course (pun intended).

I was wondering about using a tube of beige silicone to fill in the gaps?

I was also considering a wood putty type of material but wonder if it would be too rigid when dry compared to the flex of the silicone sealant? Or, if the rigidity even matters? Or, how well it would adhere to the siding?

The rig is stored in a covered lot so my concern is when we're out camping. We're mainly weekenders.

Thanks for the advice.

Robert
    Last edited by Country Campers; 12-01-2023, 06:28 AM. Reason: font size
    Robert
    2018 Reflection 311BHS

I would not used silicone to fill the gap. Once the silicone touches the fiberglass, it is very difficult to remove if you want to do a proper patch job later
    Wood putty may allow water penetration, so I'd not consider that one either.
    Fiberglass patching is really not too difficult. You may even be able to find a repair person to come to you. And if it's too pricey, you could file an insurance claim.

If it's going to be exposed to the elements, I'd put a piece of water proof tape over the damaged area to prevent moisture penetration.

Jim
    Jim and Ginnie
    2024 Solitude 310GK - 2020 F350 Dually
    GDRV Technical Forum Moderator
    GDRV Rally Support Coordinator

Comment