Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding An Awning to a slide

Hi,
    I have a 2016 Reflection 303RLS. I added slide toppers to this trailer (actually the dealer did). The newer years of this model trailer now have an awning on the right side (dining room) slide that effectively gives you the back half of the trailer as awning coverage too in addition to the second awning over the front and door. I asked the dealer if they could install this awning on my trailer and they said they would not. Something about interfering with internal wiring. In essence, they would not do it.

So, I am thinking to do this myself. I am an engineer, and very electrically and mechanically adept. Actually putting the awning onto the trailer will require a couple of friends to help me slide it into the rail. But the brackets I can deal with, and I believe I can fish wire into the wall to get power to it, and run it to my control panel with the other Awning button. I have the Carefree part numbers for the awning and control arms from my neighbors 303RLS, which is the newer model with this awning.

In looking at my neighbors model of my trailer, I can see that the brackets to hold the top of the awning to the slide would fit if I mount in the same location as his. The only caveat is that the brackets would overlap the brackets for the slide topper. This may require me to manufacture a bracket that will function to hold both the awning bracket and the slit topper bracket. Not a major undertaking, and I could get them power coated to match the existing brackets.

My neighbor tells me our RV dealer will not put slide toppers on his trailer on this slide due to the same reasons they gave me. He has the slide awning, but no slide topper. So, if I can make it work, he will put a slide topper on his matching the brackets I do. I may actually make 4 brackets, 2 for each of us since he wants to do the same to his.