Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Grand Design & New to this owners forum

Greetings fellow GD Owners,

Wanted to take a minute and introduce myself to the forum. I really like having a shared site like this where other GD owners are blazing a trail to these upgrades. With my past campers, I had to piece together different ideas.

While I'm not new to the camping world/ off-grid camping, I am new to Grand Design. For years we kept seeing more and more GD campers and thought when we get our next one, we'll definitely look at GD. Well, we (my wife and I) have drank the koolaid and purchased a new 2023 2500RL last week.

In my Boyscout days I always camped in a tent and when I got married we camped a few times together, but my wife had always camped in her parents "mouse house" camper, it was one of those old 13' aluminum ones from the 70's. So, she wasn't much interested in sleeping on the ground. So, when our daughter came along we upgraded to a Coleman Bayside popup, which we used for several years, but began to out grow it, so we started looking at upgrade options and attending a couple camper shows. Then one day at a swim meet my wife found the model we liked and made the jump from a popup to a 36' Cougar 31SQB TT (yes that's a huge jump). We drove from Denver to Indiana in my F150 and hauled it back home (quite the adventure). So for the past 10-year, we've pulled this Cougar all over the West/ Midwest. Being in Colorado, we really enjoy the mountains and glamping off-grid in remote BLM/ Forest CG sites.