15 AMP fuse keeps blowing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 15 AMP fuse keeps blowing

hello all and thank you for your time,, I am a newbie at the world and came across an issue on my 2020 GD transcend 32bhs, i have the 15 amp fuse in panel that keep blowing as soon i was replace it. prioe to replacing fuse I turn off breakers and install new. i have bought new battery thinking it might be the issue but it wasn't. All but the celing lights ,water heater and tank gauge readings are working. I looked into the convertor, I disconnected the power cord (with breaker to convertor down) and i got the fuse light (red) to come off. Once I plug in the power cord to convertor gets a little spark and fuse light comes on again, but the breaker to convertor never trips. any information to the issue is greatly appreciated,

fuse light 15 amp F4 in panel (labeled control center)
    WFCO panel
    WFCO wf-9855 convertor

Well it seems you have a dead short in the wiring with regards to the ceiling lights or water heater. Seems odd to me that they are on the same fuse.
    Everybody troubleshoots differently, but if it were me I would start by isolating either the water heater or the lights. Whichever is first is up to you. I'm guessing by your post that you do not have a meter (I recommend you get one) so after isolating (removing dc power wires from) the light cct, replace the fuse. If it still blows...you water heater cct is the culprit. If it doesn't blow, your heater is fine and the ceiling lights/wiring is your issue. You will then have to pull each light and switch until you isolate where the short is. Could become expensive constantly replacing fuses...really need a meter to troubleshoot electrical issues.

Oh...welcome to the forum!
    2018 Dodge 3500 6.7 Cummins w Aisin and 9 cup holders
    2021 303RLS
    Electricians were created because engineers need heroes too...

Comment

GDi.o