Interfacing with the OneControl system via CANBUS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interfacing with the OneControl system via CANBUS

New 397THR, and I am seeing a lot LOT of lag in the scfeen and controls. I have a lot of experience in home (and RV) automation, so I am looking to interface with the CANBUS to see what is going on and see if it can be interfaced in a more efficient way.

My intent is to put a Raspberry Pi onto the bus, and monitor the control messages. The Pi will run socketbus, Node Red, and Home Assistant. My intent is NOT to control any of the moving parts, but to extend things like lights, etc. In my previous GD, I had a bunch of very automations that I now need to recreate - and this seems like the best place to make it more robust.

Anyone have any experience?

Thanks!

Bob
    ==============
    Grand Design RV National Owners’ Rally: http://www.gdrvnationalrally.com
    Grand Design RV Mid-Atlantic Owners’ Rally: http://www.gdmarally.com
    Current GDRV: 2023 Solitude 391-DLR, Midnight FBP
    Previous GDRV's: 2016 Solitude 375RE, 2021 Momentum 397TH-R
    No tow vehicle!

Originally posted by bob View Post
    Anyone have any experience?
    WRingling is one member that may be able to help. His project is not specifically geared around the OneControl, but he is integrating a Pi in his setup. Check out https://gdrvowners.com/forum/operati...ur-2019-337rls

Howard
    Forum moderators are not GD employees--we are volunteers and owners presumably just like yourself. Unless specifically mentioned otherwise, we have nothing to gain should you choose to purchase a product or engage a service we discuss on this forum.

2017 Ford F-350 DRW, '19 315RLTSPlus

Comment

Originally posted by howson View Post

WRingling is one member that may be able to help. His project is not specifically geared around the OneControl, but he is integrating a Pi in his setup. Check out https://gdrvowners.com/forum/operati...ur-2019-337rls

Howard