Question regarding wet bolts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding wet bolts

I’m new to the “wet bolt” thing. Dug out my grease gun, got the Lock’N’Lube from Amazon, and got new grease. All ready to go. Got out the creeper, which I haven’t used in years, and slid under the trailer. Had a couple of fittings that wouldn’t take grease, so I ran the levelers up just enough to relieve some of the weight, and both worked fine. Maybe the holes aren’t at the right position? You can learn a lot reading these forums every day...

On my Reflection 303 (2019), there are three bolts/fittings for each spring. One is at the outside end (front and rear of the respective spring) and two on each of the inboard ends. Where the two bolts/fittings are, one attaches to the spring and the other attaches to a bracket which is then attached to the middle section of the suspension that is then attached to the frame. Sorry, but I don’t know the actual name for any of these parts, but you can see them in the photos, below.

The curb side went well and, after raising the trailer, the driver side went well too. Then I realized that there were six fittings on the curb side, but only five on the driver side. One of the springs that should have had two bolts and fittings had the two bolts, appearing to be the same/correct size, but only one had the zerk fitting. Doesn’t sound or look correct. Is it possible that someone could have put in a bolt without the zerk?

Also, at the top of the rocker piece that holds the two springs together, there is a bolt that attaches everything to the frame, the the middle of the suspension. There is no zerk there either, on either side. Since that area also swivels, as a part of the suspension, it looks like it should be lubed as well.

Any thoughts on either issue?

Tom and Janice (also known as Richter on the “Other” forum)

First came the 18' Comfort bumper-pull, was great for 20 years.