Awning Maximum Wind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Awning Maximum Wind

Is there a recommended maximum wind speed (sustained or gust) for the Solara Awnings installed by GD? Providing all the usual disclaimers (don't leave an awning extended while you are away, put it up, etc., etc. generally - don't be stupid). I'm a retired engineer so...I do math in my head. If I know the average wind speed for the day is light and below a certain value, then the awning goes out, and I'm enjoying the shade. If not, then it stays stowed.

What is that number? What is that recommended maximum wind speed? Is it 5mph, is it 20 mph?
    2016 Chevy 2500HD Duramax LTZ LB, 2020 Transcend 32BHS, Gainesville FL

I use the time tested "hat method" for weather. If I take off my hat and my hair is blown around then the awning stays in.
    I dont recall ever seeing a value for whats a safe wind speed. I do know that they arent very robust and it doesnt take a lot of wind to damage them.
    2021 Reflection 337RLS, 2021 Silverado 3500HD 6.6 gas. Nellie the wonder boxer

Comment

As important as wind speed is wind direction. If ours is beginning to “flutter” and before it begins to bounce . . . it comes in or gets tied down. I know that manufacturer advice is not to tie it down, but this works in light winds. I would guess that 10 MPH wind speed from any direction other than the other side of the trailer is time to bring the awning in.

Rob
      Cate & Rob
      (with Border Collies Molly & Angel + Kitties Hazel & Elsie)
      2015 Reflection 303RLS
      2022 F350 Diesel CC SB SRW Lariat
      Bayham, Ontario, Canada

Comment

One of many search responses: How Much Wind Can My RV Awning Take? – Outdoor Troop​. All seem to say the same, 20 to 25 mph. Cate&Rob is right that direction matters.
        John
        2018 Momentum 395M
        2018 Ram 3500 Dually
        Every day is a Saturday, but with no lawn to mow.

Comment