Tire pressure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tire pressure

Good morning everyone, I’m new to grand design and New to 5th Wheel’s. I’ve had a class A diesel pusher & My question is on my coach. I had it weighed in went to the tire guide to determine tire pressure. How do you do it on these fifth wheels?

Best is to use the recommended tire pressure until you get several trips under you and determine what you will have in the unit. After that find a Cat scale and pay to have it weighed. Start with the empty TV and then reweigh with the trailer. This is so you can determine pin weight along with getting the axle weights for the unit.

Err on the side of caution with tire loads as with the suspension setup in a trailer, it may not be equal between the 2 axles.
    Joseph
    Tow
    Vehicle: 2024 GMC K3500 Denali Ultimate Diesel
    Coach: 303RLS Delivered March 5, 2021
    South of Houston Texas

Comment

Trailer weight side-to-side will not be equal on many towable RVs. You cannot take the Cat scale weight and divide equally by 4 to determine weight carried by each tire.

Rob
      Cate & Rob
      (with Border Collies Molly & Angel + Kitties Hazel & Elsie)
      2015 Reflection 303RLS
      2022 F350 Diesel CC SB SRW Lariat
      Bayham, Ontario, Canada

Comment

Originally posted by Mac58 View Post
        Good morning everyone, I’m new to grand design and New to 5th Wheel’s. I’ve had a class A diesel pusher & My question is on my coach. I had it weighed in went to the tire guide to determine tire pressure. How do you do it on these fifth wheels?
        Just run the max tire pressure on the tire sidewall and go. I have never aired down my tires using weight charts - can cause too many issues such as excessive sidewall flex. and heat build up if not correct. So simply air up and go.