Solar Power on 2020 GDRV Imagine 2400BH

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solar Power on 2020 GDRV Imagine 2400BH

Hello, I am facing a challenge of installing a solar system with a 2000W inverter hooked to a 200Ah LiFePO4 battery in our 2020 2400BH.

I am not an electrician, so I have a couple of questions in regard to isolation of the charge circuit from the converter.

We are preparing for a trip to the Northwest this summer. The campgrounds we chose do not have shore power. Generator times are out of reach for us, as we will be spending those hours hiking, so my thoughts were 600W solar --> LiFePO4 battery --> 2000W inverter --> shore power cable directly into inverter.

My question is, how do I isolate the charge circuit from the converter back to the batteries? I do not want the trailer to charge my Li batteries.
    However, I want the trailer to have normal 12V battery power to the lights, furnace etc without the inverter running.

I will have an 60A breaker installed to disconnect the solar array from the batteries when on actual 120V power supply / generator.

When solar disconnected I will charge the batteries through a separate 40A 120V charger hooked straight into shore power/generator.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    Arne D
    2004 Ford Excursion Diesel 6.0
    2020 GD Imagine 2400BH with factory solar option, 600W solar, Renogy Inverter, LiFePO4 200Ah battery
    2020 Jeep Gladiator Mojave
    2019 homebuilt M416 Expedition trailer

Originally posted by Oshndoc View Post
    Hello, I am facing a challenge of installing a solar system with a 2000W inverter hooked to a 200Ah LiFePO4 battery in our 2020 2400BH.

I am not an electrician, so I have a couple of questions in regard to isolation of the charge circuit from the converter.