AC Beat Frequency

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AC Beat Frequency

When our Atwood AC is working hard (compressor running continuously) it develops a beat frequency at about 1Hz . . . audible only inside the trailer. I have removed the interior cover and can’t find anything loose (pressing against various brackets and panels does nothing). I have removed the exterior cover and can’t find anything loose, but even more confusing . . . the beat frequency is not audible outside . . . right at the AC with cover removed!

When the compressor is cycling on and off (normal “light load operation) this noise does not happen.

Cooling ability seems normal at all times.

Any ideas ?

Rob
    Cate & Rob
    (with Border Collies Molly & Angel + Kitties Hazel & Elsie)
    2015 Reflection 303RLS
    2022 F350 Diesel CC SB SRW Lariat
    Bayham, Ontario, Canada

I'm not an acoustic engineer, but is it possible vibration from the AC becomes harmonic at another point... say refrigerator, theatre seating, TV mounting? The audible frequency may be some distance from the vibration source.

Mike
    Mike & Sonya
    2017 Silverado 1500, 5.3, Tow Pkg, RAS
    Blue Ox SwayPro
    2021 2400BH (DeBunked)

Comment

Originally posted by Cate&Rob View Post
      When our Atwood AC is working hard (compressor running continuously) it develops a beat frequency at about 1Hz . . . audible only inside the trailer. I have removed the interior cover and can’t find anything loose (pressing against various brackets and panels does nothing). I have removed the exterior cover and can’t find anything loose, but even more confusing . . . the beat frequency is not audible outside . . . right at the AC with cover removed!

When the compressor is cycling on and off (normal “light load operation) this noise does not happen.

Cooling ability seems normal at all times.

Any ideas ?

Rob
      Must be a 70's throw back any hippies around?