Portable Solar Panel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portable Solar Panel

Grand Design 2019 Reflection 29RS, two 12V lead acid batteries. I'm researching portable solar panels. Neighbor RV owner at storage park said I should not go over 100W because anything more would damage the battery cells (he has a 90W solar panel). But gpelectric.com rep said I should select a 130W panel, and maybe the salesman just wanted to promote a more expensive product. This is the one I was considering: https://gpelectric.com/products/130-...ble-solar-kit/
    I am a novice to anything electric and trying to avoid the expense of a roof mount, so what do any of you advise?
    Thanks in advance...

Welcome to the forum. That 130 watt panel with a 10 amp controller will work just fine for your set up. How will you connect it to the batteries?

Jim
    Jim and Ginnie
    2024 Solitude 310GK - 2020 F350 Dually
    GDRV Technical Forum Moderator
    GDRV Rally Support Coordinator

Comment

TucsonJim is correct - that would be a great setup for you. Perhaps your storage facility neighbor doesn't have a good controller on his. The controller is designed to match the charge rate to the batteries' needs. One thing to keep in mind with a portable setup - especially in a storage facility - is security and the risk of theft. These things tend to grow legs...

Rob
      Rob & Laura
      U.S. Army Retired (Rob)
      2012 F350 DRW CC Lariat PS 6.7, PullRite OE 18K
      2020 Solitude 310GK-R, MORryde IS and disc brakes, solar, BB LiFePO4, DP windows
      (Previously in a 2016 Reflection 337RLS)
      Full time since 08/2015

Comment

Originally posted by OG1 View Post